They call it love

Dear Mr. Simons,

You’re the reason I keep following Jil Sander collection every season. ‘Simple’ is probably one of my favorite adjectives when it comes to dressing up. At Jil Sander, you managed to create some of the coolest, yet simple looks one could ever find. It broke my heart when I heard you leaving Jil Sander. Of course, Ms. Sander herself is a great designer. The brand, after all, is her lovechild. But I was too in love with YOUR designs, I did not know if I could ever say “Jil Sander is my favorite brand” again. Your move to Dior was rather shocking. Your name never really came up in all the speculations made of who is going to replace Galliano. Well, maybe it did, I just never came across it.

When I found out about the news, I was, of course, happy for you! Dior is huge! I respect Christian Dior for creating the “New Look”, but the whole monogrammed Lady Dior bag is just never my thing. I, too, was once mesmerized by John Galliano’s designs for the house. But all these Dior couture were very fantasy-like. I felt like they were made for the glossies and the museums. I thought it was a pretty smart move having you as the head creative director for Dior, as I feel the brand was quite tired. I told myself, “I’ll follow Raf Simons wherever he goes, even if it’s Dior…”. I trusted your aesthetics, I think you can take Dior to a new direction.

And along came the Christian Dior Fall 2012 couture. Your first debut at Dior! Yes, the show pretty much reminds me of your last collection at Jil Sander – the pink dress, the flowers, the make-up. But this is definitely my favorite Dior collection. It shows that couture doesn’t always have to be so extravagant. It can be so simple, but so beautifully crafted.

I am drowned in my couture dreams now, I feel that if I have the chance, I could wear all of those Christian Dior pieces you made. I just can’t wait to see your ready-to-wear collection in September now. I hope you’re loving your new job at Dior as much as I’m loving your first collection.

Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

